I grew up in Marshalltown, about an hour south of Waterloo. My first job started right after I turned 14 at a local kennel that bred and raised Pointing Labrador Retrievers. I knew I always wanted to have a job with animals and stayed there for just around 6 years before moving away for school. I moved to Cedar Falls in the fall of 2014 to go to UNI and eventually met my now wife in February of 2017. I have worked several different jobs since then and have finally felt like I found my place here at Den Herder!

Pets: I have 2 cats and 1 dog right now. Peeta is our 8 year old orange tabby and Echo is our 4 year old sweet little blackshadow. Tala comes in as our oldest baby at 12 years old and I actually got her from the kennel I worked at in High School! She was the runt of her litter, but ended up being a mama herself a couple of times and had beautiful pups. Many of her puppies actually went to the Puppy Jake Foundation for wounded warrior service dog training. I have also previously had other kitties, 2 parakeets, several hamsters, 2 gerbils, a couple of fish, and a ball python. Though I love all animals (except for anything with more than 4 legs), I have a special place in my heart for my kitty cats…I even have a special cat tattoo and add a paw print to it with the initial of each cat I have.

Home Life: I married my wife, Callie, in February of 2021 and we bought our first house together in 2023! It’s a fixer upper, and we are learning the pros and cons that come with that endeavor each and every day…
During my free time, I am usually found playing video games of many kinds, reading (usually mystery thrillers), sitting on the front porch watching my many bird feeders with my cats, working in the yard, learning a new recipe to cook for dinner, visiting friends and family, or traveling wherever we can! Callie and I have both been to Europe before we met, but we hope to return their together some day.

Ever since coming to Den Herder, I have learned and experienced so much in such a short time. I love getting to know all of the clients and patients. Every day is something different and usually brings something new to me. I am constantly learning about so much more than I ever thought I would while being up front behind the desk and answering the phone. Here’s to many more years getting to love all over the fluffy, scaly, and feathery friends we see each and every day!